Drugstore Makeup – Eyes

SAM_1836.JPG

I have no idea where the last couple of weeks have gone!  I have had every intention to use my free time to sit down and write some posts and somehow said free time just vanishes.  The last few days I have managed to get some kind of order back into this blog and have planned posts for the upcoming weeks.  There are a couple that are a bit different to what I have done before but I am excited to expand a little bit. Right, without further ado, let’s get into it!

This post is a follow on from my Drugstore Favourites – Face Products post that I did a few weeks ago so if you missed that definitely go check it out!

Maxfactor False Lash Effect – I demand quite a lot from a mascara, it must be lengthening, separating and volumising without being clumpy.  This one ticks all of those boxes so much so that other mascaras that I have tried (based on recommendations) are disappointing.  The False Lash Effect truly makes it look like have twice as many lashes than are actually there!  It has a chunky, plastic applicator with lots of short bristles and I think that is what helps with separating the lashes and gives them a very fluttery effect.  It is on the more expensive side of the drugstore mascara options retailing at R155 but I haven’t found anything else that compares.  There is also a waterproof option which I have never tried but the normal version doesn’t transfer on me and transferring is a problem I have had with a lot of other mascaras.

Essence Gel Liner – Apparently the launch of this liner was much anticipated and there was a big fuss on Instagram that I completely missed because I was in store one day to find a swarm of girls hovering around the Essence stand looking for this product.  I had actually bought the black one a few days earlier because I was looking for a new liner and gel generally lasts a good while so I dropped one into my basket.  Well the hype was definitely worth it because boy does this thing have staying power and they are ridiculously pigmented as well!  It has a soft texture that is easy to apply and if you act quickly, it can be blended out for a smokier look.  Once it sets, it lasts until you want to take it off and this is coming from someone who struggles to stop makeup from sliding off her face. I bought the black one first and then went on to purchase the brown one which is more of a black brown and I find I use the latter more often these days.  Don’t get me wrong, there is always a time for a good black liner but the brown is not as harsh and brings out my eye colour a little bit more.

Wet n Wild Eye Shadows – Whether they are singles or palettes, Wet n Wild are known for making good quality affordable eyeshadows.  My first purchase was the trio which, as you can see in the picture, is well loved,so I decided to expand my collection and bought two singles and have absolutely fallen in love.  “Crème ” is the perfect matte brow bone highlight for my skin tone and “Nutty” is a great all over lid colour if you are doing a simple day to day look and when combined with a primer they will last for a good 8 hours or more.  Moving back to the “Walking on Eggshells” trio, it has previously popped up in one of my monthly favourites and it will be sticking around for a long time to come. The champagne shadow also looks amazing as a cheekbone highlight and the pink colour look quite nice as a blush topper or as a more ‘natural’ highlight shade because, you know, having sparkles all over your cheek is supes natural!

Essence Two in One Eyeshadow Stick – This is a fairly recent addition to my makeup collection.  I had been eyeing this every time I walked into Dischem since the product launched a few months ago. It is very easy to apply and you can quickly blend it out with you finger.  I have quite oily lids so I use it with a primer to gets a good day’s wear from it.  I have actually been using this quite a bit as a cheek highlighter. So I guess that makes it a 3 in 1 product now!  Obviously being a cream you use it before any powder products and then blend it in (quite a bit of blending if you are pale like me).  So if you are into a glowy or dewy look then I seriously recommend you giving this a go because on my skin it really gives off the “glowing from within” kinda vibe.

Rimmel Scandaleyes Eyeshadow Stick – Another one that popped up in my last favourites.  This taupe colour is the perfect crease colour for me. Sometimes I just use it on its own but mostly I pair it with the Essence shadow stick to create a simple day-to-day look. I use a fluffy blending brush (like the Cala 311) to blend it out softly and when using a primer underneath this product will be there for pretty much the whole day.  The main reason I tried this out is because I had been on the hunt for an alternative to the Maybelline Colour Tattoo Cream shadows as we don’t get the neutral/cult colours here in SA (for what reason, nobody knows but I shall have to wait until I find a mule to bring one over for me! Any takers?) Obviously I can’t compare the two products but until that day comes, the Rimmel cream shadow is a happy alternative!

Maxfactor Excess Shimmer Eyeshadow – Now this is a stunning cream shadow although I would describe the formula as more of a gel than a cream.  It is beautifully pigmented with a fine, metallic shimmer that can be used to create a dramatic evening look or a more dressy day look. I definitely need to use a primer with this otherwise it just migrates to the lines on my eyelids. I have the “Copper” shade which I was hoping would be a dupe for Maybelline’s “Bad to the Bronze” and I don’t think it is a dupe formula wise but I love it just the same.

Pastels & Proteas Blog

Pastels & Proteas Blog

Well that is it for my favourites from the drugstore/pharmacy.  Hope this helps you out with your next purchase!  What are some of your drugstore favourites?

One thought on “Drugstore Makeup – Eyes

Leave a Reply

