Empties #1

Empties Products #1.jpg

Some of my favourite posts or videos are “product empties” ones.  It just feels like you get a better review of the products because the person really gave them a good go in terms of use.  I won’t have many of these posts because it takes a while to get through things but it just so happens that I seemed to have finished a few products at them same time. Also, I usually buy the same product repeatedly because if I finish it, that usually means I like it. These posts will have a short review of each product that I used up as well as whether I will repurchase the product or not.

Without further ado, let’s get into it!!

Empties Hair Products.jpg

Batiste Dry Shampoo – If I can delay washing my hair by another day or two, I am all in! (#lazygirlproblems) I think I would label this product as one of those “cult” products and have purchased a few bottles before this one.  My last few bottles have hung around for a bit longer than the others as I have found recently that it dries out my scalp too much if I use it regularly.  Also, my roots are an ashy brown (that is a colour, right?) and this product does leave a bit of a white cast making my roots look a bit grey which is not cute.

In or Out? OUT – at this stage I don’t think I will be repurchasing this product anytime soon and I am currently testing out some other options in the dry shampoo department but I wouldn’t rule out never buying it again.

Garnier Ultimate Blends Conditioner – I was quite excited when the new range of Garnier haircare products launched earlier this year.  When I buy conditioners I look for something that is hydrating but not heavy. It has an added bonus if it smells delicious! I know you are not supposed to use that much conditioner on your hair but I swear my hair drinks the stuff so a more affordable option is definitely what I am looking for. I have been trying out various drugstore conditioners over the last year to find my ideal one.  This one is not far off let me tell ya!

In or Out? IN – I have since purchased the full size version of this as it is definitely one of the best drugstore conditioners I have tried over the last few years.  It gives my hair a healthy shine to my hair without looking oily and it really does nourish my hair.

OGX Argan Oil & Shea Butter Conditioner – I had seen so many great reviews about this brand that I eventually took the plunge and spent more than R100 on a conditioner for the first time in my life.  It’s kind of weird but at first I was a bit disappointed because my hair actually felt slightly dry after I rinsed out this product but once my hair was dry it was incredibly smooth and sleek.  I also get quite a few compliments on how my hair smells when I use this. (Is it weird for people to say they like the smell of your hair? I’ll take it anyway)

In or Out? IN – I will definitely keep this product in my haircare routine.

Hask Macadamia Oil Hair Treatment – If I haven’t made it obvious already, one of my main goals in life is to have silky, smooth and shiny hair.  I used to be quite good about using hair masks regularly but I have let that slip over the last few years. I did enjoy the mask, it did a good job of moisturising the ends of my hair.  I can’t really comment on the repair claims as my hair is in pretty decent condition at the moment.

In or Out? IN – I would repurchase this again but I am enjoying trying out a few other products right now.

Empties Face Products

Essence Sun Club Bronzer – Okay this isn’t quite an empty but work with me here.  I loved this product when I first bought it but I ended up getting another bronzer that then took preference.  I went back to use this one again and found it looked a lot more orange then I remembered.  I’m thinking that the product might have expired because I hadn’t used it for so long and that’s why it became so orange.  It definitely didn’t do that when I originally used it and I would like to think that I can trust the people around me enough to tell me if I looked like an oompa-loompa!

In or Out? OUT I won’t be repurchasing this product because I am into more of a cool toned bronzer these days

 

 

Lush Angels on Bare Skin – In my quest to up my skincare game I splurged a bit on this a few months back and loved it from the first time I used it.  It provides a light exfoliation and leaves the skin feeling hydrated and evens out my skin tone.  I also love that it is an all natural product and smells divine.  It is a little bit messy to use but I tend to use it in the shower so the mess sorts itself out.

In or Out? IN – I will definitely repurchase this next time I pass by Lush.

 

Body Shop Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion – I bought this product as part of my search for the perfect day cream.  It promises to be moisturising has a matte finish as well as having SPF 15 which I think is important to have in a day cream.  I didn’t find it gave me enough hydration and while it did mattify my skin when first applied, I found I still got oily on my nose and forehead during the day.

In or Out? OUT – It’s certainly not the worst moisturiser I ever used but I have since used others that I prefer so I won’t buying this particular product when I go to the body shop again.  I am keen to try some of their Vitamin E products though.

Cettua Halfmoon Brightening Eye Patch – I was very intrigued by this product when I first heard about it.  I am not fully convinced that it reduces the visibility of dark circles but I did feel that there was a bit of a difference after I used them but that could totally be a mind over matter thing.

In or Out? IN – While I am still on the fence about these, I am keen to buy them again and use them regularly to see if there is actually a difference.

Cettua Charcoal Nose Strip – Again, on the fence about these. Sometimes they worked, sometimes they didn’t.  The best nose strips I have ever used were from a British brand that you can’t get here.  There are so many options at the drugstore these days that I’m thinking about buying them all so I can properly compare.

In or Out? Well I guess I would say IN at this stage because I would like to give them another go and compare them to some other brands.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Creightons Vanilla and Macadamia Cocoon Shower Burst – I bought this based off of a post by Juls on All Dolled Up and I am so glad I listened to her recommendation.  I’m not always the biggest fan of the sweeter scents but I think in winter I find them more warm and comforting. Saying that, the scent only hangs around for a few hours after use.

In or Out? IN – I will definitely repurchase this one next time I find it in stores.  They are available from selected Pick n Pay’s but they never seem to be in stock when I look for them.

Sorbet Renew Salt Polisher – I love a good scrub and this is a great affordable option.  There is something so satisfying about the using an abrasive scrub to get silky smooth skin and this product ticks that box.  It is part of the “Spa” range from Sorbet and the scent really does make you feel like you are being pampered.

In or Out? IN – I will repurchase this again but I am keen to try some of the scrubs from the other Sorbet ranges first.

 

Hope you enjoyed this first Empties post!

2 thoughts on “Empties #1

Leave a Reply

