Drugstore Makeup – Face Products

Pastels&Proteasblog0816a.JPG

Let me start this off with a disclaimer: No, you do not need ALL of the makeup listed in this blog.  This post is intended to inform those who walk down the makeup aisle thinking: “I have no idea where to begin”.  If you are just starting out with makeup or are looking to buy a few new products to play around with then keep on reading!

When I started getting into makeup there was a lot of trial and error, wasted money and draws full of poor quality cosmetics.  Before I started to read blogs and regularly watch Youtube videos,  I would be in front of a makeup stand with very little understanding of what I was actually looking for.  I would be easily swayed by pretty packaging or the celebrity that was used in the advertising – not that I never get influenced by those elements anymore but I would like to think I make more informed purchases these days!

I do have every intention of doing a “Makeup Basics” blog in the near future which should include some brushes as well as a mini tutorial.

*Please excuse how beat up most of my products look in these photos. At least you can be sure that my recommendations are true as you can see how well loved the product are!*

 

Face:

Catrice Prime and Fine Beautifying Primer – This was an impulse buy, by which I mean I did no research on this product before it landed in my shopping basket.  I was actually looking for a different illuminating primer which we no longer seem to get in SA anymore. Anyway, you can use this as a primer before applying your foundation or you can mix it in with your foundation for a lighter, more glowy finish.  I find that it provides a healthy glow and evens out the skin tone.  It doesn’t drastically increase the wearing time of your foundation but any primer does help the longevity of foundation.  Retails for R92.95 at Dischem.

Rimmel Match Perfection Foundation – I have used this foundation for at least four years now and I think the bottle in the picture is my third bottle.  That is not prolific use but I don’t wear foundation everyday and I have a few others that I play around with as well.  I originally bought this product soon after it launched and will fully admit that I was drawn in by packaging (my favourite colour is blue) and the advertising (Zooey Deschanel was the celeb used in the advertising and I was really into New Girl at that point – still into it for the record).  Another thing that drew me to Rimmel was my reasoning that Rimmel is a British brand and British people are fairly pale – as am I – so I figured that they would have a foundation that would suit my skin tone as every foundation I had tried before that was too dark or made me look like an oompa-loompa. Not cute.  I have since discovered that this foundation has been recommended by quite a few bloggers and Youtubers as one of the better drugstore foundations as are a few of the Rimmel ones and for good reason as well.  I would say it has a medium, buildable coverage with a natural finish.  It does get more dewy throughout the day but a setting powder or blotting paper can help with that.  It doesn’t oxidise on me and can be applied using a foundation brush or a sponge depending on the finish and coverage you desire.  You can use your fingers but I find that the product doesn’t perform as well if applied that way.  Retails for R149.95 at Clicks.

Catrice Camouflage Cream –  This little pot of cream concealer provides high coverage for those pesky blemishes that always show up at the worst times.  You just need the smallest amount to cover up any redness.  My spots tend to appear in the oiliest areas of my skin so I find that setting it with a powder helps this product last longer.  I know some people use it under the eyes for darkness as well but it doesn’t work on my skin, too drying. Retails for R59.95 at Dischem.

Catrice Liquid Camouflage Concealer – Catrice are definitely taking home the prize for best affordable concealers today!  This is the one I use under my eyes as it provides high coverage and doesn’t dry out the delicate skin under my eyes.  Concealers tend to crease quite easily under my eyes so I set this concealer using a damp sponge and a loose setting powder. This product also works well as a highlighting concealer.

Catrice Liquid Illuminating Pen – Apparently this product is a dupe for Benefit’s High Beam and it is beautiful.  It is a cool toned, shimmery liquid highlight that really illuminates the tops of the cheeks bones.  I did notice a few of these pens in the sale section the other day so I hope this doesn’t mean that it is discontinued! It would be a sad day indeed.

Essence Stay All Day Translucent Fixing Powder – I always stayed away from loose powders as I didn’t like how messy they were to use.  I think I was convinced to buy one because of Youtuber, NikkieTutorials when a video she put up about how to stop your under eye concealer from creasing.  Her tip to apply the loose powder using a damp makeup sponge to set the concealer works like a bomb!  Essence tends to discontinue it’s various makeup lines fairly regularly so by the time I need a new one they might not stock it anymore but I figure any of their variants should work pretty much the same as the last.  Retails for  R82.95 at Dischem

 

 

Nyx Powder Blush in Taupe – Sorry everyone, apparently this one has been discontinued after only being available in South Africa for less than a year!  This is one of those “cult” products that everyone goes on about and I was so excited when I finally got my hands on it.  For a pale girl like me, it is the perfect contour shade. 

Max Factor Creme Puff Blushes – These little gems are the only blushes I have been using for the last eight months.  The colour Nude Mauve is my go to winter blush for a neutral look and  I like to use the other colour, Lovely Pink, on the apples of my cheeks for a healthy pink flush.  Lovely Pink does have shimmer in it unlike Nude Mauve which has a satin finish with no shimmer. Available at Clicks.

Essence Make Me Brow –  I have used this product pretty much everyday over the last couple of months which is why it made my June/July favourites.  Quite a few people say it is a dupe for Benefit Give Me Brow but I can’t comment on this as I have never tried this product.  It does a great job of thickening my brows and keeping my unruly brow hairs in place.  Retaisl for R51.95 at Dischem.

Essence Lip Liner – Honestly, I am not a regular lipstick wearer.  In fact I often forget to apply anything on my lips and then have to rely on whatever lipgloss that I find at the bottom of my handbag.  But when I do remember to wear lipstick I find that using a lip liner makes all the difference in the final look of the lipstick and the longevity of the product.  These ones from Essence come in a variety of colours and have a very creamy consistency.  Retails for R18.95 at Dischem.

Nyx Butter Gloss in Creme Brulee – This is another one of those much raved about products and you can definitely see why.  It has a good colour pay off, it is creamy and hydrating with a beautiful glossy finish.  And bonus, it smells like cake batter -Yum!!  They come in a wide variety of colours from nudes to striking berry tones. Retails for R124.95 at Clicks.

 

A “Drugstore Eye Makeup Picks” post is coming up soon so keep an eye out for that!…see what I did there?  No? It’s fine, I don’t mind being the only one laughing at my own jokes!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

