First XI May 2016 – Monthly Favourites

As this is my first favourites post I will explain the title of First XI.  With this blog being an amalgamation of all my favourite things, one of those being cricket I have decided to try and merge these to different worlds.  “First XI” refers to a cricket team being made up of eleven players and only the best players are chosen for the first team.  So instead of doing a traditional “Top 10”, I thought I would incorporate some cricket into the beauty side of the blog as well.  I won’t be limiting these posts to just makeup or beauty but of all the things that brought a smile to my face during the month.

1. Lush’s Angels on Bare Skin Cleanser

I see an instant change in my skin when I use this product.  It’s hard to describe but it basically makes my complexion look even and also makes my skin looks brighter. I will have a more detailed review on this product in my upcoming skincare post.

2. Skin Creamery Facial Oil

So much love for this product, I just can’t say enough great things about it.  For an in depth review check out this blog post.

3. Cotton On Necklace

This was definitely an impulse purchase. I was just about to pay for some other items when I noticed a sign saying “2 for R100”. I mean, who could walk away from that empty handed? I immediately picked a silver bar necklace as it was simple and pretty and then while searching for the second item I was drawn to the sparkly turquoise pendant.  I held back a bit because of the gold as I very rarely wear gold jewellery but I figured that seeing as the chain was so fine it wouldn’t really matter.  I basically wear this every opportunity I get now.  Love!

4. Creightons Vanilla & Macadamia Cocoon Shower Burst

This was based off of a favourites post by Jules on All Dolled Up (big fans of theirs by the way).  I happened to spot this when I was in Pick n Pay and dropped it in the basket.  What I love is that the vanilla scent is not overpoweringly sweet, the best way I can describe it is yummy.  I also picked up a mango and papaya shower gel from the same brand but I think I’ll save that one for the warmer months.

5. Catrice Prime & Fine Beautifying Primer

This was another kind of impulse purchase.  Kind of in the sense that I was searching for a different illuminating primer (which we don’t seem to be able to get in South Africa anymore) and happened upon this little gem.  I have used it as just a straight primer and I have also mixed it in with my foundation and both give great results.  I often get a nagging feeling of regret when I buy products without researching beforehand but the way this product performs totally validated the purchase.  Not to mention a few days later, Luzanne from Pink Peonies mentioned that it was a new favourite of her’s in her “What’s New In My Makeup Bag”  post.

6. Max Factor Masterpiece Transform High Impact Volumising Mascara

This is my second tube of this mascara, the first time I bought it was based off of a review on Pink Peonies.  It has quite a liquidy formula to start off with but after a couple of uses it dries out a bit and that’s when I find this mascara performs at its best. Gorgeous, big, dramatic lashes without being clumpy – yes please!  My other go to mascara is Max Factor False Lash Effect which, for me, gives a slightly more natural, fluttery look but I don’t like having too many mascaras open at the same time so I alternate between the two.

7. Blistex DCT Lip Protectant

I have had this lipbalm for a while, also purchased based off of a recommendation.  With the colder weather now, my lips do tend to get dry and chapped so I have made a point of using a lipbalm more regularly – I keep it on my bedside table as this helps me remember to use it.  It has SPF 20 but I mostly use it at night and try to remember to put some on before I leave in the morning.  It really does repair and soften your lips and I definitely notice when I forget to use it.

8. Sorbet Moisturing Hand and Body Lotion

I got my first bottle of this as part of a birthday present last year.  I had just started to get into Sorbet products and my cousin bought me a few items without knowing this and I’m not sure if I would have tried this product otherwise as I usually don’t go for citrusy scents.  Boy am I grateful to her for that gift – my skin changed overnight after using this! Thanks Robyn! Silky smooth skin that you just want to stroke all the time….no? Only me? Hehe, oh well. I rave about this product to anyone who vaguely mentions that they are experiencing dry skin and quite a few of my friends have received this as a birthday present recently.

9. Saying: “Leave a Little Sparkle Wherever You Go”

This has been a favourite saying of mine for a while and I spotted this magnet at Typo the other day so of course I had to pick it up.  Every time I see it, a smile pops onto my face and I walk out the door in a good mood.

10. Justin Timberlake – Can’t Stop the Feeling

This is the epitome of a “feel good” song.  I can’t dance to save my life (#whitegirlproblems) but I can’t help but move when I hear this song. I heard a snippet of it on East Coast Radio a couple of weeks ago as it was due to be released the next day, then a good friend of mine who lives in New Zealand mentioned that the song reminded her of me.  I was a bit sceptical but when I heard the the whole song it made me really happy that someone would think of me when they hear it – thanks Jen! It does inflate my ego a bit but I take this as a compliment that a happy song reminded someone of me.  I hope this song makes you smile as much as it makes me smile 🙂

 

One thought on “First XI May 2016 – Monthly Favourites

  1. Pingback: A Durban Girl’s Guide to Surviving Winter | Pastels & Proteas

Leave a Reply

